Mums’ List: Spring Break

putting our feet in the water at the beach

putting our feet in the water at the beach

FAMILY LIFE

This week was a beautiful and chaotic mess. My husband, a stay-at-home-dad, was out of town for 5 days and I took time off work to be home with the kids while he was away. I decided to make it our own little Spring Break full of adventure and fun.

We made wonderful memories, we laughed, we played and there were also tears, exhaustion, long nights, and long days. I was peed on, spit up on, and in just one night took two showers before getting up for the day (one shower with each kid at different times of the night and for different reasons, like I said, pee, poop, and spit-up). I changed sheets and clothes about as often as I changed moods.

One day we almost missed a doctor appointment due to a dead car battery. Oh, and there was the doctor appointment itself which was a follow-up for my eyes. Due to an irritation in my left eye, my vision was blurry the last two weeks. I dressed Capri in brightly colored clothes with large, distinct patterns to help me see her when we were out. Still, it was stressful to struggle with my vision but my eyes are now recovering and I’m seeing much better. By the last day, baby William had a cold and I was up with him most of the night.

matching French braids for me and Capri

matching French braids for me and Capri – notice her brightly patterned skirt makes her easy for me to see in busy places

The chaotic moments make the sweet moments seem that much sweeter. In the mornings we played board games in pajamas while I slowly sipped coffee. We went on daily adventures: picnics in the park, playing at the beach, a trip with friends to the Hands On Children’s Museum, games at Chuck E. Cheese (which is like Vegas for kids), and shopping for special treats.

a sunny day at the beach

a sunny day at the beach

Capri picked many of our meals during our mini Spring Break. I don’t mind cooking but often struggle to decide what to make, so I welcomed her healthy suggestions and she appreciated having the power to pick meals. For breakfast she usually requested pancakes or eggs. For lunch we had sandwiches with a side of carrots and hummus, and another day we dipped flatbread and carrots in hummus and sides of bananas and string cheese. Dinners included hotdogs and cabbage (she specifically wanted the cabbage sautéed in coconut oil after hearing her Papa Tom mention that he makes cabbage that way), the next night she chose chicken and “lettuce” (salad), and the last night she chose spaghetti and meatballs.

In the evenings, and after we put baby William to bed, Capri and I made stovetop popcorn and snuggled up to watch a movie. My daughter liked it so much that when Dan came home and asked what her favorite part of the week was, she told him all about the popcorn “it was popping everywhere!”

from stove to bowl only took a few minutes

from stove to bowl only took a few fun-filled minutes

SOCIAL ME(dia)

The only post I made this week was about stovetop popcorn. With my husband out of town, I didn’t have time for anything else. He’s back, life is back to our version of normal, and I have a few post ideas I’m working on for this week. Stay tuned!

INSPIRATION

I’m feeling particularly inspired to work on my general health and to lose the last 5 pounds of baby weight (I’ve already lost a total of 35 pounds since William was born in September – yippee!). I have plans to continue regularly walking and running, and I’m working on some other health goals related to everyday detox, cutting back on sugar, and more. Once again – stay tuned, because I have more posts on these topics coming soon.

Mums' Days

– See more at: http://www.mumsdays.com/#sthash.lakANKfc.ceYw7hyb.dpuf

3 thoughts on “Mums’ List: Spring Break

  1. Mums’ List Hello!!

    I’m looking forward to reading your weight loss updates; I’m still trying to lose my baby weight too. I have lost 14lbs but have another 20lbs to go 😦 It’s not just the weight though; I can’t believe how much my shape has changed. Pregnancy, weight gain, breastfeeding for 9.5 months, then weaning has done my bust NO favours and my hips are SO much wider than before. I need some serious motivation so hopefully your upcoming posts will help.

    See you next time! 😉

    Like

    • Well a quick bit of advice for now is to make mini goals of one pound. With my first pregnancy I gained 50 pounds and lost it all by working on just one pound at a time. Lots of little successes and much less overwhelming than trying to do it all at once. Good luck! All of us are in this together 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m the same as Beth – my hips (in particular my saddle bags) are much bigger and even though I’m sort of back to where I started (might be being a bit generous there!), I just don’t feel the same, I feel bigger and saggier so I too am looking forward to a bit of inspiration.

    As for you 5 days on your own…you did good to hold it together man!! Why does everything go wrong when you’re on your own. I had a fair bit of that while Mike was away too, but mainly due to me being a bit of a klutz and it reminded me how much I rely on him for just simple things like not forgetting my mobile phone or locking the back door at night!

    It sounds like you had a lovely time though and I think the popcorn would have been my favourite bit too 🙂

    Thanks for linking to Mums’ List! xxxx

    Like

Speak your mind